Angie / Crucifixion

by Nick Regalado

Somehow,
I found her smiles
among a pile of torn down homes
holding jagged, broken shards
to threatening, possible, frightened necks
in her honor

she’d walk edges
while holding my arm
I never fought
much, against
I played
and dabbled and
toyed with it too

I miss her laugh
-ing at the trouble we’d stir
and stumble across, standing tall
through the diseased danger
of our nightly exploits

we found
a peace
a center
a grip

it was natural
organic,
a thing that came to be
all on its own

strong, but loose
prone to wander
never a nail, driven
between us
firm nor forced

until
one day
I decided
wrong was right
and right was useless
and this was necessary.

Leave a comment

Filed under Text

Leave a Reply

